The Fairer Fife Commission was established by Fife Council in September 2014 and given the remit to:

‘Take a strategic overview of the scale, scope and nature of poverty in Fife and the effectiveness of activity currently undertaken to address such poverty. To report with recommendations to Fife Council and Fife Partnership by November 2015.’

The Commission was totally independent of Fife Council and its partners. Membership was made up of senior figures, who gave up their time freely, from across public, private and voluntary sectors. Establishing the Commission fulfilled a desire for independent input into what the priorities for Fife Council should be in tackling poverty and inequality.

Its work was based around four themes:

The Commission's report "Fairness Matters" was published on November 30, 2015 listing over 40 recommendations to deliver a "significantly fairer Fife by 2030."

Commission Membership

The membership of the Commission included:

  • Martyn Evans (Chair), Chief Executive, Carnegie UK Trust
  • Brendan Dick, Director, BT Scotland and Managing Director, BT Regions
  • Professor Carol Tannahill, Director, Glasgow Centre for Population and Health
  • Satwat Rehman, Director, One Parent Families Scotland
  • John Dickie, Director in Scotland, Child Poverty Action Group
  • Professor Duncan MacLennan, Professor of Strategic Urban Management and Finance, St Andrew’s University
  • Pam Whittle CBE, Chair, Scottish Health Council Committee
  • Dr. Katherine Trebeck, Policy and Research Advisor, Oxfam GB Global Research Team
  • George Dodds, Director of Delivery, NHS Health Scotland
  • Nicholas Young, Stakeholder Manager (Scotland), Working Links
  • Jim McCormick, Scotland Advisor, Joseph Rowntree Foundation (advisor to the Commission).

Steve Grimmond (Fife Council Chief Executive) attended each Commission meeting as the link for Fife Council and Fife Partnership.